Home > Remembrance
Testimony of an international conflict
Saint-Quentin and its surrounding area is Located on the Hindenburg Line. The involvement of many nationalities gives a special place to our territory: Australians, English, Welsh, Germans, Scots, Americans, Irish, Indians, French ... fought here.
The occupation of Saint-Quentin (Real “logistic hub” for the German Army), from 28 October 1914 to 1 October 1918, the evacuation of its inhabitants in March 1917, the creation of the Hindenburg Line, the offensive of 21 March 1918, the fights from September to October 1918, the attack on the Hindenburg Line Sept. 29, 1918 by the British, Australians and Americans...
Cemeteries, memorials, remains…testify to the sacrifice of these combatants on our land.
Visiting these enables us to turn these historical events into real life and remember these men.
The famous writers Ernst Yünger and Wilfried Owen fought in the area.
The leaflet “Tracing the Footsteps of the First World War in the Saint-Quentin area” presents some important sites: lien sur téléchargez nos brochures.
Few examples of important sites :
The well on the Town-Hall Square/Place de l’Hôtel de Ville
During the war, the well stood in the square behind the Town Hall. On 27 August 1914 Major Tom Bridges of the 4th Dragoon Guards improvised a military band with the help of a drum and a penny whistle taken from a toy shop. The major himself and one soldier circled round the well to encourage the exhausted soldiers to take to the road again, heading for Ham, before the German arrived.
On the way out of Bellenglise, going toward Le Verguier and Vermand (D31), grain silos are visible on the right beyong the canal. To their left an unmetalled track leads to the Memorial, a walk of about 1,5 Km. Located on the advance German lines, with alternating networks of barbed wires and trenches, this site was taken by the Australian troops during the battles of 18-20 September. On 29 September men of the north Staffordshire and South Staffordshire Regiments of British army thus had a jumping-off line to attack the principal line which ran along the canal.
Somme American Cemetery
The American Second Corps suffered 7 500 losses un the attack on the Hindenburg Line. On 29 September 1918 the 107th Infantry Regiment of the 27th Division lost 995 men in the attack at Bony, defended by three solidity fortified strong points.
After the fighting a temporary cemetery was laid out, whith became the official American Cemetery of the Somme for the 1st, 27th, 30th, 33rd and 80th Infantry Division and the 6th and 11th Engineers. Designed by the Philadelphia architect George Howe, with input from the French sculptor Marcel Loyau, the present –day cemetery was inaugurated on 30 May 1937. 1,844 bodies lie here and the names of 333 missing soldiers are carved on the walls inside the chapel.
Guided tours :
Information Tourist Office of Saint-Quentin :
Contact : Marjorie Richard Tél + 33(0)3 23 67 80 48 - E-mail : firstname.lastname@example.org
“Chemins d’Histoire” will help you discover the legendary places of the First World War. Guided by an ardent World War 1 enthusiast, you will discover well and lesser well known places full of emotion. Olivier Dirson organises tailor made tours, based on a soldier, a unit, a nationality or a particular site.
Contact : Tél +33 (0)3 23 67 77 64 ou +33(0)6 31 31 85 02 email@example.com